• Home
  • American Library Association 2010 Literary Award Winners

American Library Association 2010 Literary Award Winners

John Newbery Medal- When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead

Newbery Honor Books
Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose
The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly
Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin
The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg by Rodman Philbrick

Randolph Caldecott Medal – The Lion & the Mouse illustrated and written by Jerry Pinkney

Caldecott Honor Books-
All the World illustrated by Marla Frazee, written by Liz Garton Scanlon
Red Sings from Treetops: A Year in Colors illustrated by Pamela Zagarenski, written by Joyce Sidman

Michael L. Printz Award- Going Bovine by Libba Bray

Printz Honor Books
Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman
The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancey
Punkzilla by Adam Rapp
Tales of the Madman Underground: An Historical Romance, 1973 by John Barnes

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award- Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson

King Author Honor Book –Mare’s War by Tanita S. Davis

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award- My People, illustrated by Charles R. Smith Jr.

King Illustrator Honor Book-The Negro Speaks of Rivers illustrated by E. B. Lewis

John Steptoe New Talent Author Award-The Rock and the River by Kekla Magoon

Coretta Scott King –Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement
The winner is Walter Dean Myers author of: Amiri & Odette: A Love Story, Fallen Angels, Monster, and Sunrise Over Fallujah.

Pura Belpré (Illustrator) Award
Book Fiesta!: Celebrate Children’s Day/Book Day; Celebremos El día de los niños/El día de los libros illustrated by Rafael López

Belpré Illustrator Honor Books
Diego: Bigger Than Life illustrated by David Diaz, written by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand
My Abuelita illustrated by Yuyi Morales, written by Tony Johnston
Gracias Thanks illustrated by John Parra, written by Pat Mora

Pura Belpré (Author) Award- Return to Sender by Julia Alvarez

Belpré Author Honor Books
Diego: Bigger Than Life written by Carmen T. Bernier-Grand, illustrated by David Diaz
Federico García Lorca written by Georgina Lázaro, illustrated by Enrique S. Moreiro

Schneider Family Book Award
Ages 0-10- Django written and illustrated by Bonnie Christensen
Ages 11-13- Anything but Typical by Nora Raleigh Baskin
Ages 13-18- Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork
William C. Morris Award- Flash Burnout by L.K. Madigan

Odyssey Award- Live Oak Media, producer of the audiobook Louise, the Adventures of a Chicken written by Kate DiCamillo and narrated by Barbara Rosenblat.

Odyssey Honor Audiobooks
In the Belly of the Bloodhound: Being an Account of a Particularly Peculiar Adventure in the Life of Jacky Faber, produced by Listen & Live Audio, Inc., written by L. A. Meyer and narrated by Katherine Kellgren.
Peace, Locomotion, produced by Brilliance Audio, written by Jacqueline Woodson and narrated by Dion Graham.
We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball, produced by Brilliance Audio, written by Kadir Nelson and narrated by Dion Graham.

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award- Benny and Penny in the Big No-No!, written and illustrated by Geoffrey Hayes

Geisel Honor Books
I Spy Fly Guy! written and illustrated by Tedd Arnold
Little Mouse Gets Ready written and illustrated by Jeff Smith
Mouse and Mole: Fine Feathered Friends, written and illustrated by Wong Herbert Yee
Pearl and Wagner: One Funny Day written by Kate McMullan, illustrated by R. W. Alley

Margaret A. Edwards Award
The winner is Jim Murphy author of: An American Plague: The True and Terrifying Story of the Yellow Fever Epidemic of 1793, Blizzard! The Storm That Changed America, The Great Fire, The Long Road to Gettysburg, and A Young Patriot: The American Revolution as Experienced by One Boy.

Robert F. Sibert Medal-Almost Astronauts: 13 Women Who Dared to Dream by Tanya Stone

Sibert Honor Books
The Day-Glo Brothers: The True Story of Bob and Joe Switzer’s Bright Ideas and Brand-New Colors written by Chris Barton, illustrated by Tony Persiani
Moonshot: The Flight of Apollo 11 written and illustrated by Brian Floca
Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose

YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction Award-Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman

Andrew Carnegie Medal
The winners are Paul R. Gagne and Mo Willems of Weston Woods, producers of Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! It was narrated by Willems and Jon Scieszka with animation by Pete List.

Mildred L. Batchelder Award
A Faraway Island,originally published in Swedish in 1996 as En ö i havet, written by Annika Thor, translated by Linda Schenck

Batchelder Honor Books
Big Wolf and Little Wolf written by Nadine Brun-Cosme, illustrated by Olivier Tallec, translated by Claudia Bedrick
Eidi written by Bodil Bredsdorff, translated by Kathryn Mahaffy
Moribito II: Guardian of the Darkness written by Nahoko Uehashi, illustrated by Yuko Shimizu, translated by Cathy Hirano

Alex Awards

The Boy Who Harnessed the Wind: Creating Currents of Electricity and Hope by William Kamkwamba and Bryan Mealer
The Bride’s Farewell by Meg Rosoff
Everything Matters! by Ron Currie, Jr.
The Good Soldiers by David Finkel
The Kids Are All Right: A Memoir by Diana Welch and Liz Welch with Amanda Welch and Dan Welch,
The Magicians by Lev Grossman
My Abandonment by Peter Rock
Soulless: An Alexia Tarabotti Novel by Gail Carriger
Stitches: A Memoir by David Small
Tunneling to the Center of the Earth by Kevin Wilson

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award- Lois Lowry will deliver the 2011 lecture.

Need Help?

Contact Education and Juvenile Literature Librarian Rachel Wadham with questions concerning juvenile literature.
(801) 422-6780.

Or contact the Social Sciences/Education Help Desk.

Chat with us!

Chat requires JavaScript.

Book Review Publications

Local Library Websites

Other Great Sites from BYU