• Home
  • BYU Family History Library Hours

BYU Family History Library Hours

The BYU Family History Library is open Monday through Saturday during the same hours as the whole BYU Library. The library is also open exclusively for family history on the 2nd and 4th Sundays (except some holidays). The help desk services and family history missionaries are available during most of the hours the library is open. Our regular hours and exceptions are noted below.

Regular Hours

Monday-Thursday

Friday Saturday

2nd & 4th Sundays

Family History Library*

7:00 am–midnight

7:00 am–midnight 8:00 am–midnight

10:00 am–7:30 pm

Help Desk Services*

8:00 am–9:00 pm

8:00 am–6:00 pm 8:00 am–6:00 pm

Missionary Help

9:00 am–9:00 pm

9:00 am–6:00 pm 10:00 am–6:00 pm

10:00 am–7:30 pm

*Exceptions to Monday-Saturday Open Hours and Help Desk Services
For exceptions to Monday-Saturday hours for the Library and Help Desk Services, see Exceptions to Regular Hours for the BYU Library. (Exceptions may include closures, shorter hours, or extended hours.)

†Exceptions to Sunday Hours
The BYU Family History Library is open on the 2nd and 4th Sundays (closed other Sundays), except for the following 2nd and 4th Sunday closures:

  • 2nd Sunday in May (Mother’s Day) – Closed
  • 4th Sunday in May (Memorial Day) – Closed
  • Thanksgiving Weekend  – Open when the 4th Sunday is weekend before Thanksgiving. Closed when it is on the same weekend as Thanksgiving.)
  • 4th Sunday in December (Christmas) – Closed

Exceptions to Family History Missionary Help (2019)
Besides when the BYU Library is closed, Missionary help is not available during times when BYU Library services are limited to the Level 3 Help Desk only, per the BYU Library Schedule. There are also some additional exceptions.

Missionary Service Available 9:00 am–6:00 pm only (no evening service)

  • Monday, April 29, 2019 (New Student Orientation)
  • Monday-Thursday, August 19-22, 2019 (Education Week)
  • Monday-Thursday, August 26-29, 2019 (Semester Break)

No Missionary Service – Library may open on some of these days with varying hours and service levels. (See BYU Library Schedule.)

  • Saturday, December 15th, 2018-January 5th, 2019 (Christmas, New Years, and Semester Break)
  • Monday, January 21, 2019 (Martin Luther King, Jr. Day)
  • Monday, February 18, 2019 (President’s Day)
  • Saturday, April 6, 2019 (General Conference)
  • Thursday, April 25, 2019 (Graduation Commencement)
  • Saturday, April 27, 2019 Semester Break
  • Sunday, May 12, 2019 (Mother’s Day)
  • Saturday, May 25, 2019-Monday, May 27, 2019 (Memorial Day weekend)
  • Saturday, June 22, 2019 (New Student Orientation)
  • Thursday, July 4, 2019 (Independence Day)
  • Wednesday, July 24, 2019 (Pioneer Day)
  • Saturday, August 17, 2019 (Semester Break)
  • Saturday, August 24, 2019 (Semester Break)
  • Saturday, August 31, 2019 (New Student Orientation)
  • Monday, September 2, 2019 (Labor Day)
  • Saturday, October 5, 2019 (General Conference)
  • Sunday, November 24, 2019 4th Sunday
  • Wednesday, November 27, 2019-Saturday, November 30, 2019 (Thanksgiving Weekend)
  • Friday, December 20, 2019-Tuesday, December 31, 2019 (Christmas, New Years, and Semester Break)

Last Modified: December 10, 2018

Search

Important Links

Films

FHL Films and Fiche at BYU

Scanner Reservations

Scanner Reservations

FamilySearch

FamilySearch*

Ancestry.com

Ancestry.com
(BYU campus)

Find My Past

Find My Past
(BYU Library)

Mormon Migration

Mormon Migration

HeritageQuest Online

HeritageQuest Online
(BYU access)

County Histories

County Histories
(BYU access)

Fold3.com

Fold3
(BYU access)

WorldVitalRecords.com

Sanborn Maps
(BYU access)

HistoryGeo

HistoryGeo
(BYU access)

Gateway to North America

Gateway to North America
(BYU access)

"BYU access" means that the item is accessible on BYU campus or remotely for logged-in BYU students and faculty. If labeled “BYU campus” then it is available anywhere on BYU campus, but not remotely. "BYU Library" indicates that you may only access the resource while physically at the BYU Library. (If you have a personal account with any of these sites, you can access them anywhere. If so, it is best to access them directly rather than using these links.)

*FamilySearch is accessiable anywhere on the Internet, but many of the images (ca. 25-30%) require viewing at a FamilySearch family history center. BYU Library is also designated as a family history center allowing access to these images.