BYU Harold B. Lee Library
HBLL
Chat requires JavaScript.

Archive for the 'Databases' Category

Direct access to the Economist

Monday, May 11th, 2015

20150207_cuk400

The library now provides direct access to the Economist. This is the easiest way to browse current issues.

If you want to do heavy searching or more intensive research, use ProQuest for issues since 1992, and use the Gale archive to go all the way back to the beginning in 1843.

New Database: JP Morgan Research

Friday, February 13th, 2015

This database is essential for all of the stock market followers out there. This database features thousands of analyst reports covering over 3,000 global companies and all industries. Derived from Morgan Markets – which is J.P. Morgan’s exclusive information for key clients and investors – these reports are made available to academic users for education and research purposes. Coverage is 2011 to current with a one week embargo. Lengthy reports cover equities and company performance, global and regional economics and financial strategy, foreign exchange, commodities, liquidity, and emerging markets. Click here to go to the database site!

jp1    jp2    jp3

New Database: Entrepreneurship

Friday, January 30th, 2015

This entrepreneurship database bridges theory with practice, covering a wide spectrum of resources useful to educators, researchers, students, and practitioners. Content ranges from the scholarly – including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings – to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats – from video to down loadable Word and Excel files, as well as traditional texts and PDFs.

e1    e2    e3

New Database: Banking Information Source

Friday, January 23rd, 2015

This is the ultimate financial services research tool! The ProQuest Banking Information Source combines the currency of the Internet and the perspective of industry journals. This database includes industry and professional newsletters, school of bank marketing papers, and stonier theses. This database also enables you to search essential banking industry publications for information about the financial services industry, banking and industry trends.

b1    b2    b3

New Database: Asian Business and Reference

Friday, January 16th, 2015

This database heads to the Eastern Hemisphere and focuses on business and financial news from all the way across the world. It covers Asian business and financial information form key international publications. This database also offers detailed information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions throughout the Eastern Hemisphere.

You can check it out by clicking Here or by clicking on one of the pictures below!

Hang Seng Index

A 2    A 3

 

New Database: Accounting and Tax

Friday, December 12th, 2014

This is the quintessential accountant’s database. It brings together highly ranked global and scholarly journals with key resources for locating quick and precise results covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day. Accounting & Tax can also be searched as part of ProQuest Business Collection.

A&T   A&T 2   A&T 3

 

ProQuest Business Collection

The most comprehensive business offering, comprising all content from ABI/INFORM Complete, Accounting and Tax, Asian Business and Reference, Banking Information Source, Entrepreneurship, J.P. Morgan Research, and the International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. Featuring thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, conference proceedings, and working papers as well as trade publications, analyst reports, industry reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. Includes the following databases: Accounting and Tax, Banking Information Source and J.P. Morgan Research.

 

Historical Archives: FT and The Economist

Monday, August 18th, 2014

The library is happy to announce the acquisition of historical archives for two of the world’s premier business and economics publications: The Economist and Financial Times.

ft

Full-color scans of every page, fully indexed and searchable, are available from the first issues of The Economist in 1843 and FT in 1888.

econ

The Economist is read by more of the world’s political and business leaders than any other magazine, and FT is the complete general newspaper for businesspeople, today distributed on distinctive pink paper to more than a million readers.

Together with our existing access to the Historical Wall Street Journal, these archives will prove essential for anyone researching public affairs, economics, and financial history in the past two centuries.

Passport Database Adds a New Geography

Tuesday, May 20th, 2014

Just when you thought Euromonitor Passport’s database couldn’t get any better with geography and international research…well, it just did! Passport has added to its Cities module, which included analysis for over 1,150 cities worldwide, four Utah cities! This allows you to dive into historical data on GDP, employment, and other areas by city!

PCADIBRICcitiesv2small

 

To access this data, go to our library guides page and access the market research database: Passport. From here you can access the “Cities” tab under the consumer & industries tab to find anything and everything about the city of interest. For example, you can look at Salt Lake Cities annual consumer data to see annual disposable income for 2013 was $40,637 USD. Dive into the cities module, find the information you need, and research in style!

Guidestar: Anything and Everything Nonprofit!

Thursday, January 9th, 2014

If you are interested at all… I mean at all in non-profits and anything and everything about them GuideStar is the database for you! GuideStar provides data on every IRS registered non-profit organization. You can discover the mission, legitimacy, impact, reputation, finances, programs, transparency, and governance of over 1.8 million nonprofit organizations.

You may even find out salaries of those managing the nonprofits and the revenues generated by each non-profits.

In order to access this database, you may find GuideStar here. It is also found on the Company and Industries tab in the Other Directories section.

REDBOOKS Advertising Database

Monday, October 21st, 2013

When we mention the words “Red book” I’m sure something like this comes to mind…

Selecting a book

When in fact REDBOOKS is the premier advertising database, with the most comprehensive, up-to-date info on the top advertisers and agencies, REDBOOKS provides you an edge for new business development and competitive intelligence. Hows that for a literary plot twist!

You may access REDBOOKS here!